Guide to Working in Rotorua, New Zealand

  • Home
  • /
  • Blog
  • /
  • Guide to Working in Rotorua, New Zealand
Guide to Working in Rotorua, New Zealand

In this location guide series, we will showcase what it is like to work in one specific region in either Australia or New Zealand, Each episode will highlight the unique benefits of the chosen location and their facilities while outlining the opportunities available to our doctors. The latest episode showcases the North Island town of Rotorua.

Rotorua, New Zealand

Rotorua is known for bubbling mud pools, shooting geysers and natural hot springs, as well as showcasing our fascinating Māori culture.

Catch a whiff of Rotorua’s sulphur-rich air and you’ve already had an introduction to NZ’s most dynamic geothermal area. The Māori revered this place, naming one of the most spectacular springs Wai-O-Tapu (Sacred Waters). Today 34% of the population is Māori, with cultural performances and traditional hāngi (steam-cooked banquets) as big an attraction as the landscape itself.

Nestled beside the cerulean blue Lake Rotorua, the township of Rotorua is home to one of the most unique tourism sites in the world. Aside from the breathtaking scenery of this volcanic-shaped wonderland, the 16 beautiful lakes in the region and the lush green of the abundant native flora, Rotorua is a geothermal paradise and the cultural heartland.

Lakes District Health Board

Lakes District Health Board serves a population of just over 100,000 and covers 9,570 square kilometres. It stretches from Mourea in the north to Mangakino in the west down to Turangi in the south and across to Kaingaroa village in the east.  The major centres of population are Rotorua and Taupo and the main smaller communities are Mangakino and Turangi.  The DHB’ boundaries take in the two main iwi groups of Te Arawa and Ngati Tuwharetoa.

Lakes DHB is responsible for the provision (or funding the provision) of the majority of health services in the Lakes District.  These services in our district include:

  • Two hospital sites (Rotorua and Taupo)
  • Nine continuing care facilities – in addition, we have one Hospital Specialist Services – Psychogeriatric Unit
  • One mental health inpatient facility
  • Four community bases for mental health (iCAMHS (Infant, Child and Adolescent): Adult community at Rotorua and Taupo; and Mental Health Service for Older People Rotorua
  • 14 aged related residential care facilities (rest homes)
  • 18 pharmacies (11 Rotorua, 6 Taupo, 1 Turangi)
  • 21 GP practices (5 Taupo/Turangi/Mangakino and 16 Rotorua)
  • 12 Māori providers, one of which also looks after Pacific interests
  • Two primary health organisations

Lakes DHB:

  • works with key stakeholders to plan the strategic direction for health and disability services
  • plans regional and national work in collaboration with the National Health Board and other DHBs
  • funds the provision of the majority of the public health and disability services in the Lakes district, through the agreements with providers
  • provides hospital and specialist services primarily for our population and also for people referred from other DHBs
  • promotes, protects and improves our population’s health and wellbeing. Through health promotion, health protection, health education and the provision of evidence-based public health initiatives


Find accommodation options for Rotorua here.

Closing Thoughts

To learn more about the area and potential roles, contact the Triple0 team today.

You may also like